Oscar nominations-

Well, for the first time in years I feel like the Oscars actually got it mostly right. I’m not crazy over Michael Clayton, but I’m glad Juno got a nod. Other reactions? I’m glad Depp got the nod over McAvoy in Atonement, because the Barber is a bit more complicated role. I hate to say I told you so about Marion Cotillard, but she’ll probably win too. I’m really glad Hal Holbrook was named for Into the Wild, because he really makes that movie, and could possibly split the vote between Hoffman and Bardem for an upset. I’m glad Persepolis was honored for best animated feature, and people need to see this movie in general. Diving Bell got some nods (but not in the Foreign category), and you might as well give the damn Oscar to Day Lewis: he’s already won folks. Also, watch out for Mongol, a Best Foreign movie nomination, which is supposed to be even better than 300. Finally, the biggest snub this year might be leaving Eddie Vedder off the Best Song category for Into the Wild.

Leave a Reply

