Love and Honor Review

2626260850101019455s600x600q85

This finale in a samurai trilogy that started with The Twilight Samurai and The Hidden Blade cements director Yoji Yamada along with the greats in the history of the genre. His approach lies in the details, and acting doesn’t get much better than in his samurai movies. The almost simple story-line with a emotionally invested and climactic duel works like magic in all three movies. No, this isn’t Kill Bill, but if you want to root for real samurai in realistic situations then catch these movies. Love and honor. Do it.

Rating (for all): 8.5

Tags:

6 Responses to “Love and Honor Review”

  1. asexualmystique Says:

    Went to the 7:20 showing of Rachel Getting Married.

    Marvelous. Marvelous. Marvelous.

  2. jeredunn Says:

    Yeah, I really want to see that. I saw Bond last night and it also gets 3 marvelouses.

  3. KimoriC Says:

    I’m a big fan of anime and/or Japanese films in general. I’m also an avid reader of Japanese culture. This film has the clarity and reality of the true Japanese samurai, along with the mysterious and unknown nature that they are know for. I was hoping to see more romance between the samurai — fun style — if you know what I mean. Because that is the way it was back then. Researching through their culture I’ve found that samurai-samurai relations were prevalent. In fact, samurai men prefered sword play rather than placing it in the sheath. Shocking I know but true.

  4. jeredunn Says:

    Really?? “Fun style”? Can we expect a Brokeback samurai movie someday then with John Woo directing? Thanks for chiming in if your not pulling a funny-style one on me.

  5. KimoriC Says:

    Hi Jeremy. Sorry if I offended you. 😦 I think your website is great…..

  6. jeredunn Says:

    Nah, I wasn’t offended. I wasn’t sure if it was a joke or not, so I was kinda playful with my response. I thought it was hella interesting if true and amusing if not. And thanks for the compliments! I was hoping some people out there liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

